Alisher Usmanov On Saber Rattling (FORBES.COM)

Artículo interesante sobre Alisher Usmanov (actual Presidente de la FIE).

Passions and Pursuits

Alisher Usmanov On Saber Rattling

As told to Bruce Upbin, 03.09.11, 06:00 PM EST
Forbes Magazine dated March 28, 2011

“Fencing is a very intellectual sport. It forces you to make up your mind and decide instantly.”

image

Usmanov is a Russian metals tycoon worth $17.7 billion.

I started fencing saber when I was 13. . . . I was playing other sports like [soccer], but I was greatly impressed with the film The Three Musketeers. . . . It was fashionable at the time to teach children to fight with the saber. . . . My friends invited me to see a bout, and I went to the gymnasium and never left. . . . The fencing club was only two bus stops from my house in Tashkent, so I would walk by myself after school, sometimes four days a week. . . . I trained as a fencer for the next seven years. . . . I had a kind of myopia as a boy, and my doctor restricted me from going to the salle [fencing club], but when I found out one of Russia’s biggest saber masters, three-time Olympic champion Mark Rakita, also had very bad vision, I went to my father and mother and said, “I cannot live without fencing. Look at Mr. Rakita, you must give me permission to go fence.” . . . In the ninth grade I made the junior team for the Uzbekistan Republic. . . . In 1969 our team won the Uzbekistan juniors competition. . . . The highest level for me was winning the Uzbek championship individually twice and becoming a candidate to the U.S.S.R. junior combined team in 1970. . . .

Fencing is a very intellectual kind of sport. . . . It forces you to make up your mind and decide instantly. . . . You have to have a very strong will, because you may have a poor score at the halfway mark but can always win in the end. . . . A very important thing in fencing is being able to deal with the “inconvenient” fencer. . . . Some people can’t fight against left-handed fencers. . . . I used to be a left-handed fighter, and also I was not a very convenient competitor. . . .

The greatest fencer in the world? . . . In the history of fencing there were lots of them. . . . I think Italian [foilist] Valentina Vezzali. . . . She is a historic figure, with five Olympic gold medals and 12 world championships. . . . Another is Mariel Zagunis. . . . Not only is she a great saber fencer [two Olympic golds and the first gold-medal-winning American fencer in 100 years, three world championships], she is also a very nice person. . . . They’re both wonderful. . . .

[On taking over as president of the sport’s international governing body, FIE] I had to do something as I saw how fencing had lost its spectators. . . . At the beginning I was trying to do this as a person, but then I realized the best thing I could do was to become the head of the fencing association. . . . The person that had been president was there for more than 30 years and some changes were needed. . . . The first thing I have to do is increase the money for promotion; without money for promotion you have no spectators or TV or the Internet. . . . My first influence was to increase the money in the sport for fencers and development . . . then we have to make the sport more of a spectacle, more interesting, open, more understandable. . . . We have to change the rules. We have to show spectators real bouts, real fights . . . to show how they hit each other and how they parry.

Fuente: http://www.forbes.com/forbes/2011/0328/billionaires-11-passions-alisher-usmanov-saber-rattling.html

  • Entrevista Usmanov en español:

Empecé sable de esgrima cuando tenía 13 años. . . . Yo estaba jugando otros deportes como el futbol, pero yo estaba muy impresionado con la película Los tres mosqueteros. . . . Estaba de moda a la hora de enseñar a los niños a luchar con el sable. . . . Mis amigos me invitaron a ver una pelea, y me fui al gimnasio y ahí me quedé. . . . El club de esgrima estaba a sólo dos paradas de autobús de mi casa en Tashkent, por lo que podía ir caminando después de la escuela, a veces cuatro días a la semana. . . . Me formé como un esgrimista para los próximos siete años. . . . Tenía una especie de miopía como niño, y mi médico me limitó de ir a la sala (club de esgrima), pero cuando me enteré que uno de los maestros más grande de Rusia sable, tres veces campeón olímpico, Mark Rakita, también tenía una visión muy mala , me fui a mi padre y mi madre y les dije: “No puedo vivir sin esgrima” . Miren al señor Rakita, tienen que darme permiso para ir a esgrima.” . . . En el noveno grado entré en el equipo junior de la República de Uzbekistán. . . . En 1969, nuestro equipo ganó el campeonato junior de Uzbekistán . . . . El nivel más alto para mí fue ganar el campeonato uzbeko individual dos veces y convertirme en un candidato para el equipo juniorde la URSS combinado en 1970. . . .

La esgrima es un tipo de deporte muy intelectual. . . . Que obliga a tomar una decisión y decidir al instante. . . . Usted tiene que tener una voluntad muy fuerte, porque usted puede tener una mala puntuación en la mitad del asalto, pero siempre se puede ganar al final. . . . Una cosa muy importante en la esgrima es ser capaz de lidiar con el “inconveniente” esgrimista. . . . Algunas personas no pueden luchar contra los tiradores zurdos. . . . Yo solía ser un peleador zurdo, y yo no era un competidor muy conveniente. . . .

El mejor esgrimista en el mundo? . . . En la historia de la esgrima había un montón de ellos. . . . Creo que la italiana [floretista] Valentina Vezzali. . . . Ella es una figura histórica, con cinco medallas de oro olímpicas y 12 campeonatos mundiales. . . . Otra es Mariel Zagunis. . . . No sólo es una tiradora de sable incríble [dos medallas de oro y la primera medalla de oro en esgrima para los Estados Unidos de América en 100 años, tres campeonatos del mundo], es también una persona muy agradable. . . . Las dos son maravillosas. . . .

[En la toma de posesión como presidente del organismo rector internacional de este deporte, FIE] tenía que hacer algo al ver cómo la esgrima fue perdiendo espectadores. . . . Al principio estaba tratando de hacer esto como una persona, pero luego me di cuenta de que lo mejor que podía hacer era convertirme en el jefe de la asociación de esgrima internacional. . . . La persona que había sido presidente estaba allí por más de 30 años y algunos cambios eran necesarios. . . . Lo primero que tienes que hacer es aumentar el dinero para la promoción, sin dinero para la promoción no tiene espectadores o la televisión o Internet. . . . Mi primera influencia fue aumentar el dinero en el deporte para los esgrimistas y el desarrollo. . . entonces tenemos que hacer el deporte más de un espectáculo, más interesante, abierto, más comprensible. . . . Tenemos que cambiar las reglas. Tenemos que mostrar a los espectadores peleas reales, las luchas reales. . . para mostrar la forma en que se golpean entre sí y cómo paran.

Acerca de Augusto Beruti

Estudio Adm. de Empresas, entreno y trabajo part-time

Publicado el 18/07/2011 en Julio 2011 y etiquetado en , , , . Guarda el enlace permanente. Deja un comentario.

Responder

